Kansas

Kansas Law

Kansas Domestic Violence Firearm Purchase and Possession Prohibitions

Kansas prohibits possession of firearms by persons who, within the preceding 5 years, have been convicted of a misdemeanor for a domestic violence* offense or a misdemeanor under a law of another jurisdiction which is substantially the same as domestic violence offense.1

Kansas prohibits possession of firearms by persons who are “subject to a court order that:

  1. Was issued after a hearing, of which such person received actual notice, and at which such person had an opportunity to participate;
  2. Restrains such person from harassing, stalking, or threatening an intimate partner* of such person or child of such intimate partner, or engaging in other conduct that would place an intimate partner in reasonable fear of bodily injury to the partner or the child; and

    1. includes a finding that such person represents a credible threat to the physical safety of such intimate partner or child; or
    2. by its terms explicitly prohibits the use, attempted use, or threatened use of physical force against such intimate partner or child that would be reasonably expected to cause bodily injury[.]”2

KANSAS CIVIL PROTECTION FROM ABUSE ORDER FIREARM REMOVAL

Civil Protection from Abuse Orders that Require Removal

Kansas does not require removal of firearms or ammunition from persons subject to protection from abuse orders; however, Kansas law does allow a court issuing a final protection from abuse order to “order[] or restrain[] any other acts deemed necessary to promote the safety of the plaintiff or of any minor children of the parties.”3

Individuals Who May Petition for a Protection from Abuse Order

The following persons may petition for a protection from abuse order:

  1. Persons who are or have been in a dating relationship;4
  2. Persons who currently reside together or who have formerly resided together; and
  3. Persons who have had a child in common.5

Penalties for Violation

  1. A knowing violation of a protection from abuse order is a class A person misdemeanor, punishable by up to one year in county jail, a fine of up to $2,500, or both.6 A court that determines that an individual has violated a protection from abuse order may find the respondent in contempt.7

This page was updated February 13, 2020. Please note that data used are the most recent available data.