Mississippi

Mississippi Law

Mississippi Domestic Violence Firearm Purchase and Possession Prohibitions

Mississippi does not prohibit purchase and possession of firearms or ammunition by persons convicted of misdemeanor crimes of domestic violence.

Mississippi does not prohibit purchase and possession of firearms or ammunition by persons subject to domestic abuse protection orders.

MISSISSIPPI DOMESTIC ABUSE PROTECTION ORDER FIREARM REMOVAL

Civil Domestic Abuse Protection Orders that Require Removal

Mississippi does not require removal of firearms or ammunition from subjects of domestic abuse protection orders; however, Mississippi courts issuing an emergency domestic abuse protection order, a temporary domestic abuse protection order, or final domestic abuse protection order may provide relief that “includes, but is not limited to” an enumerated list of relief.1

Individuals Who May Petition for Domestic Abuse Protection Orders

Any person may petition for a domestic abuse protection order for themselves alleging that they have been abused by the respondent.2

Any parent, adult member of a household, or friend may petition for a domestic abuse protection order on behalf of any minor children, or any person alleged to be incompetent, alleging that such minor or person has been abused by the respondent.3

“Abuse” is defined as “the occurrence of one or more of the following acts between spouses, former spouses, persons living as spouses or who formerly lived as spouses, persons having a child or children in common, other individuals related by consanguinity or affinity who reside together or who formerly resided together or between individuals who have a current or former dating relationship:”

  1. Attempting to cause or intentionally, knowingly or recklessly causing bodily injury or serious bodily injury with or without a deadly weapon;
  2. Placing, by physical menace or threat, another in fear of imminent serious bodily injury;
  3. Criminal sexual conduct committed against a minor;
  4. Stalking;
  5. Cyberstalking; or
  6. Sexual offenses.4

Penalties for Violation

A knowing violation of a domestic abuse protection order is a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment in the county jail for not more than 6 months or a fine of not more than $1,000.00, or both.5

A person knowingly violating a domestic abuse protection order may be held in contempt by the court.6

This page was updated September 4, 2020. Please note that data used are the most recent available data.